Hello 2013

I know most of us have our own ways of recognizing the New Year. To be honest, for whatever reason, this holiday never really bore much personal significance for me, and I don’t know why. I don’t think that I have ever made a New Year’s resolution and I certainly don’t know any of the words to Auld Lang Syne (or even what auld lang syne means in the first place).

But 2012 was big, big for me personally and big for several others who are close to me. It was a fork in my road and one that will inevitably have a lasting ripple effect (that feels right now, more like a tidal wave). Long story short, in the wake of the twelfth year of our Lord, this is my first ever New Year’s resolution. It is entirely unoriginal and 100% borrowed from my favorite theologian of all time, Herr Bonhoeffer. Below are his words, that I have challenged myself to ruminate on for the next 12 months, or so. It’s titled, simply “Look up”.

“Look up, you whose eyes are fixed on this earth, you who are captivated by the events and changes on the surface of this earth. Look up, you who turned away from heaven to this ground because you had become disillusioned. Look up, you whose eyes are laden with tears, you who mourn the loss of all that the earth has snatched away. Look up, you who cannot lift your eyes because you are so laden with guilt. ‘Look up, your redemption is drawing near.’ Something different than you see daily, something more important, something infinitely greater and more powerful is taking place. Become aware of it, be on guard, wait a short while longer, wait and something new will overtake you! God will come. Jesus will take possession of you and you will be redeemed people! Lift your heads, you army of the afflicted, the humbled, the discouraged, you defeated army with bowed heads. The battle is not lost, the victory is yours-take courage, be strong! There is no room here for shaking your heads and doubting, because Christ is coming.”

Happy New Year- Below is a photograph of one of my most cherished places to ruminate…

DSC_0074

Leave a Reply

